Flood and Landslide in Kodagu
Kodagu is a hilly district of Karnataka popularly called as Coorg, which is a part of the Western Ghats and covers an area of 4103 sq. km. being located about 257 km away from the state capital of Bangalore. Madikeri is the main town of Coorg and also serves as the district headquarters. Other major cities of the Kodagu are Virajpet, Kushalanagara and Somwarpet. Coorg District is divided into the three talukas namely Madikeri, Virajpet and Somwarpet. It is an area of lush coffee plantations along with pepper orange and paddy.